16 - 24 Jan 2016, Adelaide

History and Honour Roll

The Santos Tour Down Under is South Australia’s largest event with a rich, seventeen year history. 

Santos Tour Down Under

The event was first staged in 1999 with local rider Stuart O’Grady taking the win. Since then, numerous internationally renowned cyclists have joined the Honour Roll. The event has grown year on year to become the biggest cycling race in the southern hemisphere.

In 2008 the Santos Tour Down Under joined the prestigious UCI WorldTour, the first event outside cycling's traditional home of Europe to do so. The event is held in January every year, making it the first event on the international cycling calendar.

The Santos Tour Down Under visits some of South Australia’s spectacular beaches, world-famous wine regions and historic country towns before the finale on the streets of Adelaide.

The elite of world cycling such as Cadel Evans, Marcel Kittel, Andy Schleck and Andre Greipel have all come to South Australia to conquer the roads of the Santos Tour Down Under. In 2016, the world's top cyclists will once again be back to stamp their authority on the new season.

In 2015 the Santos Tour Down Under saw 786,022 spectators line the roads of South Australia to watch local rider Rohan Dennis take victory, with more than 37,000 visitors from interstate and overseas. The event generated $47.9m in revenue for the state’s economy and contributed to many communities across the state.

The 2016 Santos Tour Down Under is looking to be just as exciting with new race stages and a wide range of associated events.

The Santos Tour Down Under is an action-packed nine days of world-class cycling with gala dinners, street parties and an amazing atmosphere for riders, visitors and locals.

The Santos Tour Down Under Honour Roll is a history of the cycling champions who came and conquered.

View the Honour Roll

Santos Tour Down Under 2014

Frequently asked questions about the Santos Tour Down Under.

Cancer Council
Adelaide City Council
The Advertiser
Hilton Adelaide
Motor Accident Commission South Australia
Singapore Airlines
University of South Australia
etixx Sports
People's Choice Credit Union
Pure Blonde
Triple M
Wolf Blass
South Australia Police
Staging Connections
Big Fish Events Group
Cycling Australia
Signs inc