Rain-soaked Juul-Jensen wins Stage 4 of Tour de Suisse
13 Jun 18

Chris Juul-Jensen

Above: Chris Juul-Jensen was first across the finish line on Stage 4 Tour de Suisse. [Pic: Tour de Suisse]

IN his first win since 2015, Chris Juul-Jensen (Mitchelton-SCOTT) has claimed victory on the rain-filled Stage 4 of the Tour de Suisse.

The Danish rider finished the 189km stage from Gansingen to Gstaad in a little over 4 hours and 35 minutes.

“I’m super happy, we didn’t expect to stay away on a day like today but when we had two minutes at the bottom of the climb, then suddenly the break started to believe it was actually possible,” says Juul-Jensen.

“I am over the moon.”

Australia’s Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) came in second place, and Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors) finished third.

Meanwhile Stefan Küng (BMC Racing Team) still holds onto the leader’s jersey after finishing in the reduced peloton.

“There was always something to do – putting on a rain jacket, dropping back to hand over clothes at the team car… Today we weren’t riding to take the breakaway group back, so when the sprinter teams took charge to set the pace, we weren’t complaining,” says Küng.

“Of course, I will not give away my jersey without a fight.”  

Classifications after Stage 4

General Classification: Stefan Küng (Switzerland, BMC Racing Team)

Points Classification: Peter Sagan (Slovakia, Bora-hansgrohe)

Mountain Classification: Filippo Zaccanti (Italy, Nippo-Vini Fantini-Europa Ovini)

Youth Classification: Sam Oomen (Netherlands, Team Sunweb)

Stage Classification after Stage 4

  1. Christopher Juul-Jensen (Denmark, Mitchelton-SCOTT) 4:35:56
  2. Michael Matthews (Australia, Team Sunweb) +0:08
  3. Yves Lampaert (Belgium, Quick-Step Floors) MT
  4. Peter Sagan (Slovakia, Bora-hansgrohe) MT
  5. Sonny Colbrelli (Italy, Bahrain-Merida) MT
  6. Magnus Cort Nielsen (Denmark, Astana Pro Team) MT
  7. Enrico Battaglin (Italy, Lotto NL Jumbo) MT
  8. Michael Albasini (Switzerland, Mitchelton-SCOTT) MT
  9. Bjorg Lambrecht (Belgium, Lotto Soudal) MT
  10. José Gonçalves (Portugal, Katusha Alpecin) MT

General Classification after Stage 4

  1. Stefan Küng (Switzerland, BMC Racing Team) 13:26:19
  2. Greg Van Avermaet (Belgium, BMC Racing Team) +0:03
  3. Richie Porte (Australia, BMC Racing Team) MT
  4. Tejay Van Garderen (USA, BMC Racing Team) MT
  5. Peter Sagan (Slovakia, Bora-hansgrohe) +0:16
  6. Michael Matthews (Australia, Team Sunweb) +0:17
  7. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands, Team Sunweb) +0:23
  8. Sam Oomen (Netherlands, Team Sunweb) MT
  9. Gregor Muhlberger (Austria, Bora-hansgrohe) +0:30
  10. Enric Mas Nicolau (Spain, Quick-Step Floors) MT 
Pure Blonde