Subaru Stage 3

Thursday, 23 January 2020

11:00 AM
King William Road, Unley
2:27 PM
Paracombe Road, Paracombe

11:00 AM
King William Road, Unley Finish
2:27 PM
Paracombe Road, Paracombe Distance

About the Stage

Subaru Stage 3 sent the peloton out of Unley into the Adelaide Hills for one of the more complex stages of the Santos Tour Down Under in recent memory. After departing Unley under neutral, the peloton climbed the South Eastern Freeway and exited at Crafers before tackling the previously used route between Piccadilly, Summertown and Uraidla.

Working their way back towards Lobethal, the riders descended Fox Creek Road towards Cudlee Creek, then turned back towards Lobethal, passed through the township’s main street and exited to Gumeracha.

This is where the fun begins. Riders rode into Cudlee Creek and through Chain of Ponds to reach Inglewood, where they again took on the circuit linking it to Houghton and Paracombe four times before doubling back towards Cudlee Creek and descending Gorge Road.

At Torrens Hill Road, the riders dug deep for the final climb of the day into Paracombe.

Remember when...

Win this stage and you’ll likely win the race. When the Torrens Hill Road finish was featured in 2015 and 2017, then-BMC Racing Team riders Rohan Dennis and Riche Porte went on to win those respective editions of the Tour.

Stage In Detail

Ziptrak® Sprints

84km, Inglewood Inn, North East Road, Inglewood95km, Inglewood Inn, North East Road, Inglewood

Subaru King of the Mountain

130.5km, Torrens Hill Road (at gravel siding), Millbrook, Category 1, 9.3%

San Remo Pasta Feed Zone

77km, Paracombe Road, Houghton88km, Paracombe Road, Houghton
99km, Paracombe Road, Houghton
110km, Paracombe Road, Houghton

Total Climbing (exc race neutral): 2614mMaximum Elevation: 613m

Hosted by City of Unley and Adelaide Hills Council

We thank the City of Unley and the Adelaide Hills Council for hosting Subaru Stage 3 and for their invaluable contribution to the Santos Tour Down Under.


The Santos Tour Down Under is part of the UCI World Tour and UCI Women's ProSeries 

UCI World TourUCI Women's Pro Series