08 Jan 2021

Australian National Team for the Santos Festival of Cycling road race announced

Upping the ante for the NRS road race at the Santos Festival of Cycling will be an Australian national team, featuring the likes of Richie Porte and Annette Edmondson.

Team Garmin-Australia has joined with AusCycling in announcing a new partnership as they join the 120 strong peloton for the four stage road race.

Team Garmin-Australia will be joined by EF Education-NIPPO James Whelan and four time track world title holder, Sam Welsford, among other huge names in cycling.

“The quality of both the men’s and women’s teams is testament to the passion each of these riders have for racing and starting the 2021 season at the Santos Festival of Cycling,” said Stuart O’Grady, Men’s Race Director  

“We’re really excited that Team Garmin-Australia have committed to racing at this year’s Santos Festival of Cycling and are looking forward to them bringing their experience and energy to the race.” 

The six-member women’s outfit is highlighted by leader and triple world champion Annette Edmondson, with rising stars Maeve Plouffe, Georgia Baker and Trek Segafredo’s Lauretta Hanson. 

“We are eager to showcase the quality of racing in Australia with both the men’s and women’s teams, but I’m particularly excited by the strength, skill and experience of the Women’s team,” said Kimberley Conte, Women’s Race Director.  

“To bring in this quality of athlete and some of our future cycling stars is legacy to the Santos Tour Down Under.” 

Team Garmin-Australia will join the teams lining up for the 2021 Santos Festival of Cycling with a field comprised of National Road Series, Continental and World Tour riders.  

Team Garmin-Australia’s participation will offer the race a dynamic element that incorporates riders from the World Tour stage, Commonwealth and Olympic Games and World Champion excellence. The combination of athletic prowess within Team Garmin-Australia is certainly a nod to the multi-faceted nature of the 2021 Santos Festival of Cycling.



Team Garmin-Australia: 2021 Santos Festival of Cycling 


  • Richie Porte - AUS
  • Sam Welsford - AUS
  • Kelland O’Brien - AUS
  • Leigh Howard - AUS
  • Luke Plapp - AUS
  • Alex Porter - AUS
  • James Whelan - AUS


  • Maeve Plouffe - AUS
  • Annette Edmondson - AUS
  • Georgia Baker - AUS
  • Ashlee Ankudinoff - AUS
  • Sarah Gigante - AUS
  • Lauretta Hanson – AUS
  • Neve Bradbury


The Santos Tour Down Under is part of the UCI World Tour

UCI WorldTourUCI Women's WorldTour