The Santos Tour Down Under is the first stop for the world's best cycling teams and riders, and is the opening event of the UCI WorldTour

The event was first staged in 1999 with local rider Stuart O’Grady taking the win. Since then, numerous internationally renowned cyclists have joined the Honour Roll. The event has grown year-on-year to become the biggest cycling race in the southern hemisphere.

This 10-day event brings both male and female UCI WorldTour professional cycling teams to race on the streets of Adelaide and regional South Australia each January.

Up for grabs are important UCI points and the Santos Ochre Leader’s Jersey.

In 2006, the Santos Tour Down Under introduced the iconic Ochre Leader’s Jersey. The colour Ochre is unique to the Santos Tour Down Under, featured because of its strong association with Australian culture and history. 

In 2008 the Santos Tour Down Under became the first race outside of Europe to receive prestigious UCI WorldTour status to guarantee the world's best elite teams would make their way to Adelaide. 

In 2011, the event included the Rendition Homes - Santos Womens Cup, a series of women's street criterium races, marking the first time female professional cyclists participated in the event. Australian Chloe Hosking was the inaugural overall winner of the event. The woman's criterium cup grew to 3 races from 2012 with success for Australian and international riders during the competitions hosting. 

The Santos Tour Down Under women’s race began in 2016 and maintained its initial UCI 2.2 status until 2018, when it became the first cycling event in the world to offer women the same prize money as men with its upgraded UCI 2.1 status. In 2023, the women's race was elevated to UCI WorldTour status.

Some of the very best in road cycling have competed at the Santos Tour Down Under during its history. Tour de France winners Oscar Pereiro, Andy Schleck, Alberto Contador and Carlos Sastre have all raced in Adelaide, alongside Aussie legends Simon Gerrans, Stuart O’Grady, Robbie McEwen, Cadel Evans, Richie Porte and Allan Davis.


Not just a bike race

The Santos Tour Down Under is home to the largest Festival of Cycling in the southern hemisphere, with a range of associated events, mass-participation rides for kids and adults, street parties and live music combining to create a massive party atmosphere across South Australia.

The Santos Tour Down Under invites the whole state to the party by taking the race through South Australian regions. The race typically starts within the exciting Adelaide city street circuits, with the following stages predominantly being held in regional South Australia.

The Santos Tour Down Under provides a significant contribution to the state's tourism industry and showcases the attractions of South Australia to the world through global television coverage.

The Santos Tour Down Under is owned and managed by Events South Australia, a division of the South Australian Tourism Commission, on behalf of the South Australian Government.

The UCI:

The UCI is the world governing body for cycling and was founded in Paris in 1900, and its headquarters are located at the UCI’s World Cycling Centre in Aigle, Switzerland. 

The Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI)’s commitment is to lead the development of cycling as a competitive sport and activity in all its forms, across the world. 

UCI WorldTeams

WorldTeams are the best teams in world cycling. The riders and teams are chosen carefully on the basis of financial, ethical, administration and sporting standards by the UCI.

UCI WorldTeams participate in every UCI WorldTour event, including other prestigious events such as the Tour de France, Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a Espana.

Race Director: Stuart O'Grady

Stuart O'Grady OAM is a former South Australian road and track cyclist who rode professionally between 1995 and 2013.

O'Grady is a two time World Champion, competed in six Olympic Games (winning 1 gold, 1 silver and 2 bronze medals), raced in the Tour de France 17 times and wore the Yellow Jersey for a total of 9 days in 1998 and 2001, and he was the first Australian to win the the Paris Roubaix in 2007.

O'Grady was the very first winner of the Santos Tour Down Under in 1999 and became race director in 2021.

Assistant Race Director: Annette Edmondson

Born and bred in South Australia, Annette Edmondson is a former track and road cyclist. In her 17 years of racing she has amassed an Olympic bronze medal, two Commonwealth Games gold medals, three Track World Championship victories and 16 elite national titles.

Edmondson has competed in the Santos Tour Down Under 3 times racing for Team Wiggle High5 where she took the stage 2 win in 2016. 

In 2023 she will join the Santos Tour Down under team as Assistant Race Director. 

Assistant Race Director: Carlee Taylor

Carlee Taylor is a devoted South Australian cyclist who first took up cycling in 2007 after previously competing in triathlons.

Carlee competed at the highest level in Europe before retiring from professional cycling in 2018 where her final race was on home soil at the Santos Women's Tour Down Under. She now rides for Australian National Road Series Team, InForm TMX MAKE.

In 2023 she will join the Santos Tour Down under team as Assistant Race Director. 


Australian Event Awards - 2016 Best Sporting Event Australian Tourism Awards - Bronze, Major Festivals and Events
Tour Down Under - Australian Event Awards Winner 2016 Tour Down Under - 2017 Bronze Australian Tourism Awards




The Santos Tour Down Under is part of the UCI World Tour

UCI WorldTourUCI Women's WorldTour