28 Jun 2024

The Australians lining up for the 111th edition of the Tour de France

Tomorrow marks the start of the 111th edition of the Tour de France where six Aussies will make up the 176 strong peloton.

The 21-day race will start in Florence, Italy and travel through France before finishing with a 33.7km time trial stage in Nice – breaking the tradition of an Arc de Triomphe finish in Paris due to the Olympics.

While the spotlight will be on past Tour de France winners Jonas Vingegaard and Tadej Pogačar, six Australians will be competing for stage wins and the coveted Yellow jersey.

Among the Aussie riders is Western Australian born Jai Hindley who will be making his second TDF appearance for team Bora-Hahsgrohe. In 2023 Hindley won stage 5 and wore the yellow leader’s jersey for a day.

Team Jayco-AlUla has three Aussies on the start list, with Luke Durbridge, Chris Harper and Micheal Matthews all racing in the Australian team.

Matthews will be lining up for his eighth edition of the Tour where he’s won four stage wins and took the Green jersey win in 2017.

Jack Haig will make his fifth appearance in the Tour racing for Bahrain Victorious where he will support their lead rider Santiago Buitrago.

Making his Tour de France debut is 25-year-old Jarrad Drizners for team Lotto–Dstny. The South Australian was the Under 23 National Road Race champion in 2020 and has previously raced in the La Vuelta Espana in 2023 where he had a top 10 stage finish.

As the 2024 Tour de France unfolds, these six Australian cyclists will battle against each other and formidable opponents, while back home we all settle in for three weeks of late nights to cheer them on.


The Santos Tour Down Under is part of the UCI World Tour

UCI WorldTourUCI Women's WorldTour