15 Sep 2020


As we celebrate the elevation of the Santos Women’s Tour Down Under to UCI ProSeries status, we looked through our race history to answer your questions.

Have you ever wondered which cyclist has won the most stages at the Santos Women’s Tour Down Under in recent times?

Since the race became a UCI 2.2 event in 2016, a total of nine riders have won stages.

It comes as no surprise that the Australians have dominated, taking out seven of those positions.

Two of them have won three stages each.

Bendigo’s Chloe Hosking (Ale Cipollini) has an impressive history with our race.

She took out first place on Stage 3 in 2017 from Tanunda to Lyndoch with an average speed of 39km/hr.

She then went on to win the final stage in Adelaide’s East End in 2018, and she shaved off almost five minutes on her time when she did it again 12 months later!

Reigning Santos Women’s Tour Down Under champion Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-SCOTT) has won as many stages as she has General Classifications at our race.

In 2017, she won the first stage from Hahndorf to Meadows with a 19 second winning margin and an average speed of 37km/hr.

The following year saw her take top spot on Stage 3 from The Bend Motorsport Park to Hahndorf.

And in 2019, she won Stage 2 from Nuriootpa to Menglers Hill with an incredible 39 second lead.

It’s no wonder she won the GC in 2017, 2018 and 2019.


The Santos Tour Down Under is part of the UCI World Tour

UCI WorldTourUCI Women's WorldTour