15 Jan 2021

WorldTour and olympic track riders set to race at the Santos Festival of Cycling

CONFIRMED: Some of Australia's strongest UCI Continental, NRS and Wildcard teams to join the ride

The calibre of cycling at the Santos Festival of Cycling promises to be elite, as South Australia welcomes WorldTour riders for the event.

Some of Australia’s strongest UCI Continental, National Road Series and Wildcard teams have confirmed their participation in the 2021 Santos Festival of Cycling, which will offer a breadth of elite and up-and-coming talent to South Australia when racing kicks off next week, Tuesday 19 January.




Riders from the pro-peloton will take to the start line as guest riders on local and national teams, including 2020 Santos Tour Down Under winner and INEOS Grenadiers rider Richie Porte, EF Education-NIPPO’s James Whelan and Team Jumbo Visma rider, Chris Harper.

Porte and Whelan are headlining for Team Garmin-Australia, the national squad announced for the week-long Festival of Cycling, while Harper will make a guest appearance on National Road Series team Cervelo-Tonsley Village’s roster for the Festival of Cycling.

Mens’ WorldTour Riders for the Santos Festival of Cycling

  • Richie Porte (INEOS Grenadiers, 2020 Santos Tour Down Under Winner)
  • James Whelan (EF Education-NIPPO)
  • Cameron Meyer (Team BikeExchange, 2011 Santos Tour Down Under Winner)
  • Luke Durbridge (Team BikeExchange)
  • Alex Edmonson (Team BikeExchange)
  • Kaden Groves (Team BikeExchange)
  • Lucas Hamilton (Team BikeExchange)
  • Damien Howson (Team BikeExchange)
  • Lucas Hamilton (Team BikeExchange)
  • Seb Berwick (Israel Start Up Nation) TBC
  • Taj Jones (Israel Cycling Academy)
  • Alistair Mackellar (Israel Cycling Academy)
  • Chris Harper (Team Jumbo Visma)

Women’s WorldTour Riders for the Santos Festival of Cycling

  • Lauretta Hanson (Trek-Segafredo)
  • Neve Bradbury (Canyon SRAM)
  • Sarah Gigante (Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank)
  • Jess Allen (Team BikeExchange) TBC
  • Grace Brown (Team BikeExchange)
  • Lucy Kennedy (Team BikeExchange) TBC
  • Sarah Roy (Team BikeExchange)
  • Alex Manly (Team BikeExchange)

If these names aren't enticing enough, Tokyo hopefuls have also confirmed their seat at the Adelaide Track League event, which opens the festival on Tuesday January 19.

Matt Glaetzer in action on the Track
Matt Glaetzer in action on the Track

Australia's track stars, including Perth’s four-time title world track holder Sam Welsford, will also feature the likes of sprinters Matt Glaetzer and Nathan Hart.

"The heat, the speed and rush of the wind as athletes race past all combine to make an incredible at-mosphere. Do yourself a favour, when you are in the stands, go to the apex of the turn and look straight down from the railing and feel your heart racing as the riders speed past. I promise you won’t be disap-pointed!” Said Women's race director, Kimberley Conte of the opening event.

Australian Men's Track Representatives

  • Matt Glaetzer
  • Nathan Hart
  • Sam Welsford
  • Kell O'Brien
  • Leigh Howard
  • Luke Plapp
  • Alex Porter

Australian Women's Track Representatives

  • Ashlee Ankudinoff
  • Georgia Baker
  • Annette Edmundson
  • Maeve Plouffe
  • Alexandra Manly

Book your tickets now to the Adelaide Track League event - tickets going fast!


The Santos Tour Down Under is part of the UCI World Tour

UCI WorldTourUCI Women's WorldTour